New Bank of X Get Rich Rich Quick Pyramid Networking Scheme – Day 3 – Topless in Giza

Screen shot 2013-11-01 at 08.41

Day three was the day I had to get on top of the laser cutting. This requires making the guide files with the well-endowed and open-source Inkscape. Unfortunately, I have (almost) never used Inkscape. John Moseley at Access Space gave me a brief crash course, but on day three I was on my own to get the cutting files ready so that the top section can be cut and assembled to my deadline of Friday 5pm.
http://inkscape.org/

Also, despite getting more junk today, it’s nowhere near enough to make even a small pyramid, so day four looks lie it will be a desperate, skip-raiding scroungeathon.

With lots of visitors today, It took me most of the day to work out the basics and didn’t get anything finished until after 4pm.

It’s a very fiddly process and I rarely work in 3D so it took so careful thinking about in order to conceive how it would fit together. John Moseley made a very elegant prototype, and I was going to try to reproduce his version just for the practice, but I was running out of time so I decided to vary the method in order to make things simpler for myself.

John’s design comprised three different sections whereas I have attempted to make a single asymmetric face that will jigsaw into each other, with a row of pegs on the bottom of each to slot into a square base.

Screen shot 2013-10-31 at 17.01.29

Anyway, it got late in the day and there was a bit of a queue for the laser cutter so it didn’t get cut on day three. Fingers crossed for the last day.

However, as it was 31st October, I decided to clear the space and install something temporary and appropriate to the date. So here is my little ancient-Egyptian-art-world-halloween-market-rigging-in-joke. Offers invited.

One thought on “New Bank of X Get Rich Rich Quick Pyramid Networking Scheme – Day 3 – Topless in Giza

Leave a Reply

