New Bank of X Get Rich Rich Quick Pyramid Networking Scheme – Day 2 – Infrastructure

IMG_5370

Hand-cut mock-up of the top section.

I’m sure even the Pharaohs had moments of self-doubt.

It’s very common for artists to question their own motivation. For me, Day 2 was such a day, and I also got a bit distracted by Grayson Perry.

He didn’t call in, although I bet he’s got some junk to spare, but friends kept telling me about his series of Reith lectures so I thought I’d give it a whirl. You can listen online or download:
http://www.bbc.co.uk/programmes/b00729d9

He’s a great speaker but I’m not sure if it helped or not. Sometimes I wonder if I’m just the fringe of the fringe.

Anyway, having got a lot further with the construction than I thought I would on day one, on day two I feel I am short of junk. I’m not really worried about that, the world is awash with unwanted, underused and unvalued items so I am sure I can improvise nearer the finish time. More importantly, I need to get the bit of it finished that I can’t do entirely for myself, and that’s the laser-cut penthouse donation box.

I used to be a professional computer programmer, but that was in the 90s, and although I’ve used algebra and trigonometry more than most since my school days, I still felt a bit rusty when it came to calculating angles and distances. Like most ungrateful children, it’’s only in my middle years that I begin to appreciate my institutional education.

Fortunately, Pythagoras has not abandoned me and the calculations were actually quite easy, although I did double-check everything.

Here is an adapted comparison chart I found on Wikipedia (Creative Commons, original here.).

pyramid proportions.004

After calculating the dimensions of the top section, I decided to make a hand-cut, cardboard mock-up in order to test it out (above) and, in the spirit of recycling, reusing and repurposing, managed to skip-raid some waste cardboard from the Showroom Cinema’s bin store.

My calculations seem to be correct, although I think my tolerances are not exactly on a par with the ancients, but It’s close enough for me to get away with it. In Egypt, I think I might have been better employed in ceremonial event-planning rather than surveying the monumental architecture. Also, the building of The Great Pyramid pre-dates photography by about 4.5 thousand years and is estimated to have taken between 10 and 20 years to complete, but wouldn’t that have been a time-lapse project to die for? Perhaps literally.

Leave a Reply

